Enjoy our free content? Want to win gluten free food and prizes? See our Patreon for more info and exclusive content! Like us on Facebook for more content!

 

IBS is a fairly undefined and idiopathic ailment. I’ve been diagnosed for just over a year and I’m lucky to have relatively minor symptoms – stomach pains that range from bent-over-in-tears at worst or mild on most flare days, acid reflux that can be very uncomfortable but controllable with Gaviscon, and lastly the “stomach symptoms” that no one wants to talk about and that I control with Loperamide (this is prescription ONLY and you must must talk to a doctor before considering this as an option). Loperamide is the only prescription medicine I’ve tried for my IBS that has worked so I’m very grateful to have it!

This post is dedicated to giving advice based on my experiences with coping with IBS (your experiences will probably vary but you may find bits and pieces that work for you). Here’s some tips that might help!

  1. Find “safe” foods for flare days. If my IBS is ever so that my stomach is sensitive to food I would usually be able to tolerate, I go to my “safe” foods. It takes a lot of trial and error to find what these are for you, but for me potatoes, carrots, pasta, bananas, gluten free bread and salted potato crisps are on the list. When I was first diagnosed I would try to eat “normally” during flare-ups and found myself making it worse, so discovering that I can use “safe” foods to control my symptoms during flare-ups was a big help.
  2. Find ways to destress if possible. I know, I know, easier said than done, but IBS is often triggered by stress rather than food. I like to read in the bath or go for a walk. I also find that light exercise eases stomach pains.
  3. Make the most of your IBS free days. Take notice when you feel well and use to get things done because you don’t know how many hours you may have to write off when the next flare-up hits.
  4. Drink lots of water. It may seem obvious but if you have bad pains or IBS-D you may find that substituting other drinks for water makes all the difference. I personally I only drink water just due to preference – I don’t really like anything else!
  5. Figure out your trigger foods and avoid them. Again, it might seem obvious but it can take a lot of trial and error to find your trigger foods. Once you know what they are (FODMAP lists might help you to narrow down what to try) DON’T cheat! It’s never worth it to say “oh well, a little bit won’t hurt” and then spend the evening in agony. I can’t describe how much I miss garlic but remembering the pain helps me to resist!
  6. Find other people in your situation. Whilst everyone with IBS has a different experience, speaking to other people can help you to find solutions for you own issues. Online is really good place to start – Facebook groups or finding people to follow on Twitter, for example.
  7.  Make sure your friends and family know what you are dealing with, and ask for their help if you need it. I’m lucky to have a supportive boyfriend and my immediate family and friends know what I need when I have issues. Help them to understand what you go through.
  8. Remember that there is always someone worse off. There are far worse conditions than IBS out there and whilst I understand the hardships, just remember that there is someone out there who is struggling worse than you.
  9. Try to be positive. Learning to cope does get easier, and the more positive you are about helping yourself with this, the better you will learn to cope and the more willing people around you will be to help.
  10. Allow yourself the occasional duvet day during a flare-up. Stress is a big trigger for IBS and so writing off productivity for one day can be a big help. Perhaps spend one of your days off watching TV and relaxing instead of trying to make yourself go out. Sometimes we all need a chill out day.

Thank you for reading and good health to you all!

 

 

Youtube: The Gluten Free Veggie – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-b7T1VFTZqYq15aPvdlNwA

Twitter: @theGFveggie

Tumblr: glutenfreeveggie.tumblr.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theGFveggie

E-mail your questions or suggestions to: glutenfreeveggieblog@gmail.com